Turtle Town Child Care

A Licensed In-Home Snuggly Wuggly Environment for Toddlers & Children

LICENSED FAMILY DAYCARE
LICENSE # 50-70-1599549

Hi! My name is Melissa but all the kids call me Lissa :)  I have been told by my previous and current families that they consider me to be an extended auntie to their little ones...I am honored and blessed to be called that from the parents.  I do consider my new career as a daycare provider to be an amazing and lucky one as I get to teach and play all day with little ones and watch them grow into amazing little people.  I am currently still licensed through MA as a LCSW, a social worker and I received my Master's in Social Work from Simmons College while I worked full-time.  I graduated from my undergraduate degree with my Bachelors in Social Work and double majored with a second Major in Human Development.  I did this as it allowed me to have many courses already done for an early education degree if I wanted to go back for that someday.  I chose to continue to my MSW as I worked with children as a social worker for 14 years.  


               As of 7/8/15 I am a LICENSED IN-HOME FAMILY DAYCARE through Palm Beach County. 

My License number is:  50-07-1599549.


I am a stay-at-home mom of 2 fun children ages 2 years old and 7 years old. We have lived in Boca Raton the last 4 years and previously I ran a licensed in-home daycare for 3 years in Westwood, MA and have many outstanding references for you from the parents of my little ones who attended.  I am licensed for up to 6 children, which includes my 2 children.  I am able to have 4 children attend my daycare.   I am only interested at this time in toddlers as I have a wonderful curriculum and love that age. I am taking children ages 15 months and older :)  This allows us to all be learning the toddler and older curriculum that I do daily here.
My hours are 8:00 am to 5:30 pm and I have extended hours available if you need that at a higher rate.

My home provides a snuggly, in-home setting for young children.  I decided 7 years ago to open my own daycare in MA after having my first child. I have worked with children my entire life as a social worker. I have over 20 years experience working with children in many different ways. I have been a nanny to two different families, each with 3 children. One family had twin 3 year old's and a 6 year old son. I have been a senior camp counselor in a group of 12, 4 year olds, with only 1 junior counselor assisting me. This is where my creativity and inspiration came when I made my curriculum of activities for kids. I have been a babysitter to my niece and nephew for over 12 years on a monthly basis. Mainly taking them for overnights. As with my niece and nephew I find this also with the little turtles that attend turtle town, they hate to leave at the end of the day.  Having a wonderful day of smiles, learning and fun with Lissa at Turtle Town it is nice as a provider to see they do not want the fun to end at the end of the day :)


I am CPR & FIRST AID CERTIFIED and have met all the requirements for Palm Beach County for my License.  I have also passed all 6 exams that I took at FAU for Licensing through Palm Beach County.

Due to my degree's I was licensed for up to 6 children in MA, but never took that many. With my daughter as one child, I took an additional 3/4 children, never totaling more than 4 each day. I had only toddlers at the time.  I had a wonderful experience doing this and both my families and I were sad I had to close my daycare. We moved to Florida to be closer to my parents who also live in Boca Raton and moved here from MA 10 years ago. We feel so blessed to have the support of family around now that we live closer to them again.

I have a fenced in backyard, I live on a quiet cul-de-sac in Boca Raton that has no cars unless they live on our street. We have a back yard full of fun with a brand new swing set, toddler slides, turtle sand box and log cabin for outdoor imaginary play. I have many outdoor riding cars too for fun! I have a large indoor play space which is our entire family room which also has a safety gate around it.  In our upper area living room we have many more educational toys including a puppet theater and doctors stations with 4 different kits to care for animals and toys.  I have many educational toys where we learn letters and numbers as part of our curriculum at Turtle Town. I have two additional rooms that we can have fun in.  My sons room has a train table and many additional toys to play with.  My daughters room has a very pink reading corner that she is so excited to share with other little turtles.  The bookcases are full of books for all ages.  I love to read and we do this as part of our daily plan. With all these toys throughout the home there is plenty of time for free play and imaginative play is encouraged. Tons of indoor and outdoor toys! Curriculum full of fun activities for all ages from toddler to preschoolers!!! Children will have: Daily routine, Weekly themes, Daily written reports, Art/Crafts, Story Time, Science/Math and Music/Movement. We love to dance to many songs including Laurie Berkner :)


I provide some fun extra’s for your children while they attend turtle town daycare. 

For your child’s birthday we decorate the house for a special day all for them.  We have cupcakes and fun games to play to honor their day with the other little turtles attending. They will also get a special gift from Lissa that they can keep and take home
On the winter holidays we have a party for both Christmas/Hannuka and New Years.  We have a special treat like cookies or cupcakes and celebrate with different fun activities.
We send you home your special Shutterfly Photo Book for a special treat to see your child grow and change over the year at turtle town.
We have an Egg Hunt outside (if weather permitting) for April and the children have a special treat to go home with.
Mother’s Day, Father’s Day and Valentine’s Day your child will come home with a very special arts and crafts project for you.
July 4th we celebrate with activities and crafts of red white and blue.
Halloween we also have a special party with activities and we ask that your child wear their costume as we have a Halloween Parade when we go on our walk this day.

This is how I believe I stand out from all the other providers and daycares.  It is the special extra's and the full curriculum that I believe makes me different.  

I provide nurturing & responsible care for your child in a warm and respectful family environment, clean home and smoke and animal free household.

I am available to provide child care to children full-time or part-time and am interested in ages 15 months-6 years old.

References available on request as I have these ready in your introduction packet when you come to tour my home for an interview.

Please go to the home page to see the link with more about my curriculum and rates. I look forward to hearing from you and meeting your little turtle :) Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my website :)


Thank you! Lissa